Passion of the Designer.


A couple nights ago I had a conversation with my friend Z-Axis [one of Jamaica’s best designers] and of course our conversation turned to graphics and being successful at it. One thing which came up was passion and how important passion is to one’s success.

What is passion? Passion is defined as:

1. any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling, as love orhate.

2. strong amorous feeling or desire; love; ardor.

Over the years I’ve pursued a variety of endeavours ranging from copy writing for websites to baking cheese cakes. While I was good at these things, inevitably I stopped doing each of them. Reason being, I wasn’t passionate about these projects, I was just doing them because I had to make money to survive, I didn’t particularly like them.

Let’s fast forward to 2010 when I thought to myself, “Why not go into graphics, you love the ‘hobby’ so jump!” I had also spoken to Z-Axis then and he, being the sage he is said to me “If you’re willing to take the leap then do it”. Thus El Maèstro Designs was born [El Maèstro was my calling card for a while so I ran with it]. Bear in mind, up to that point I was only designing as a hobby. I had the backing of my family [even though at times my mom seems to think I’m jobless], and my supportive spouse and I decided to make a living off this.

Now, I’m not an idiot, I know to start a freelance business you have to have some sort of alternative income, or a massive bank account, which is why I took a job as a Night Auditor at a hotel. The hours allowed me to work on building my business and it is always good to have a secondary source of income.

The hotel closed down for a while and I had the chance to focus my energy on my business and business started improving, until the hotel re-opened then things slowed down a bit and I decided that being at the hotel wasn’t worth my business failing. I then got out, and for the last 9 months I’ve been completely free.

Anyways, moving right along to the point of this post and the reason why my business hasn’t gone under yet. Passion. A lot of it too! Every day I wake up, I am excited to go to work! This is what keeps me going, what drives me. I love it so much even the learning process is fun [I swear I’m not a nerd……].

Now don’t get me wrong, there are the bad days where I have to deal with bad clients and the ways they try to short change my company or flat out rob us.

However, these days are few and far between and it’s a small price to pay. I learn as I go along and I find that these things don’t bother me as much as they used to.

If you find that you’re unhappy at work, see if you can get a job in an industry that you are passionate about. The money may not be what you are used to initially but guess what? You’ll have less prescriptions to fill, the stress levels (should) be lower and you will most likely be a happier person overall.

7 thoughts on “Passion of the Designer.

  1. Pingback: Quick Tip #010 | emd fx lounge

  2. Pingback: Quick Tip #008 | emd fx lounge

  3. Pingback: Be A Better Designer | emd fx lounge

  4. Pingback: Complacency In Design « emd fx lounge

  5. Pingback: Design: Love it or leave it | emd fx lounge

Add Your Voice

