Be A Better Designer


I don’t believe you have to be better than everybody else. I believe you have to be better than you ever thought you could be. – Ken Venturi

It’s bad enough that we have to put up with those around us comparing us to –insert name here-. We do not need to do it to ourselves too. There is absolutely no reason why we should run around comparing ourselves to every other designer. Or any other designer for that matter.

My experiences within this industry and life in general are different from everyone else. That affects your work ethic, your goals and the way you view life on a whole. Of course this will also have an impact on your work as your life experiences influence your artistic outlook. If you spend time comparing yourself to and trying to be like any other graphic artist out there you are robbing yourself and selling yourself short.

That’s not to say you can’t admire another’s work and what they stand for. It just means you have to find what you stand for and make it work for you. You should not judge yourself based off ANYONE else and their work. Do not let the quality of their work determine whether you sink or swim as a designer. As I’ve progressed over the years, I’ve started to notice that the people I once tried to be like, suddenly lost their glow the moment I struck out on my own path. Now the persons I look to are industry leaders and pioneers in their respective fields.

That’s not to say that the others aren’t good, because trust me they still whip out good designs occasionally. The problem is that they’ve gotten comfortable so a bit of COMPLACENCY has set in. They don’t seem to have that drive, that PASSION that sets the skin aglow and makes your work shine. If I had decided to continue trying to be like them I wouldn’t have grown as rapidly as I have over the last 2 years. I certainly wouldn’t be doing video, that’s guaranteed.

I point all this out to say, strike out! Do something different! Do not let the limitations of another become your limitations as well. It is ok to look to someone as a guide, but do not allow that guide to dictate where you go and how quickly you get there.

Add Your Voice

